On Tuesday I presented on the topic of “Disaster Recovery in the cloud” at this year’s big Amazon Web Services (AWS) Enterprise event near Westminster in London – I had the privilege of sharing the speaking platform with a number of AWS speakers including Amazon.com CTO Dr Werner Vogels who delivered the opening keynote. Smart421 were sponsors of the event and so we had a stand in the Partner Expo and some colleagues in attendance.

In front of a full house I went through one of our AWS case studies relating to the design and implementation of a Disaster Recovery (DR) solution for Haven Power and walked though a generic DR architecture on AWS, using it to bring out various architectural considerations such as resilience, cost and complexity design tradeoffs, security features and patterns, support for heterogeneous platforms, support for emergency virtual desktops for remote users, monitoring and control considerations etc.

Generic DR Architecture

I also covered some material on the various data replication strategies that can be employed to meet different recovery time and recovery point objectives (RTO and RPO) for different classes of data and applications. Get in touch if you’d like a copy of the presentation.

I took what felt like a bit of a risk by throwing in some images into the presentation to keep it a bit light hearted, and seemed to get away with it :). There was a definite sheep theme to the slides which was not intentional – just the way it worked out. A key takeaway for my audience was that Dolly the sheep was stuffed and is now in the National Museum of Scotland…

Overall it was a great event, very well organised (including the AV team) and well attended, with around 300+ attendees or so from enterprise customers. AWS events get bigger every year – last year there was one big event in London, whereas this year it was split across two days, with a developer/startups focus on day one and enterprise focus on day two. I had some excellent conversations with various customers and innovative startups, and it was also great to catch up with my AWS colleagues – I must confess to having enjoyed the benefits of using the speaker’s room. Highlight of the day for me was when I tenuously weaved a picture of Clive Sinclair with a ZX81 into my slide deck and used it as a “grey hair test” of my audience to see who knew who it was – and the fact that one person (admittedly not an IT person) thought it might be Babbage